Get to know Costa Rica

Visa-entry and exit rules

Costa Rica entry and exit regulations

To enter Costa Rica you will need a valid passport. Your passport must be valid at least six months beyond the date that you enter Costa Rica.

All citizens of the following countries may permanently visit Costa Rica without visa requirement for 90 days: Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Chile, China, Denmark, Germany, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Great Britain, Holland, Ireland, Iceland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Canada, Croatia, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Montenegro, New Zealand, Northern Ireland, Norway, Austria, Panama, Paraguay, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Romania, San Marino, Sweden, Switzerland, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, South Africa, South Korea, Taiwan, Trinidad and Tobago, Czechoslovakia, Hungary, Uruguay, USA, Vatican and Cyprus.

Tourists from the above countries for each month overstay of the 90-day period you have to pay a USD 100.00 penalty fee. US tourists to pay USD 100.00 penalty fee for any 3 months each. This fee can be paid at the Immigration Office in San Jose.

People from the following countries require a vaccination against yellow fever and this must be documented by an internationally recognized certificate of vaccination: Angola, Benin, Bolivia, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Ecuador, Gabon, Gambia, Guinea, Cameroon, Colombia, Congo, Liberia, Nigeria, Peru, Sierra Leone, Sudan and Venezuela.

All citizens of the following countries may permanently visit Costa Rica without visa requirement for 30 days. During this period, you can apply for an extension for additional 60 days. The application "Prórroga de Turismo" must be requested by the [Dirección General de Migración y Extranjería] in Costa Rica:

Antigua, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Fiji, Philippines, Granada, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Kiribati, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Micronesia, Nauru, Palaos, Russia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Solomon Islands , Samoa, San Cristobal, Santa Lucia, Seychelles, Suriname, Tonga, Tuvalu, Turkey, Vanuatu and Venezuela.

Minors need their own passport, but can always enter alone.

[Entry Requirements] (Dirección General de Migración y Extranjería)


After arriving in Costa Rica We recommend make a copy of your passport with the immigrating stamp and keep the original in your hotel safe.

Foreigners to enter Costa Rica must have a economic solvency of a minimum of USD 100.00 per month of legal stay in the country and besides having a ticket or travel passage below or the navigation on the plan indicating the destination port outside of Costa Rica.

Index - Get to know Costa Rica